CREsponsor
Independent profile Last verified Claim this profile

Dallas sponsor that buys and builds across five property types in the Sun Belt (apartments, hotels, extended-stay, RV resorts and master-planned land), managing most of them, though not the RV resorts, with its own staff. Active since 2010.

HQ
Dallas, TXsec.gov
Established
2010rreaf.com
AUM (per sponsor)
$4.7B rreaf.com
Properties (sponsor directory)
77 · 15 states portfolio directory
Units / keys (per sponsor)
15,000+ rreaf.com
Reg D vehicles filed
~85 · 2013–2025 EDGAR
Typical minimum (Form D)
$50,000 Form D
Caveat Four RREAF oil-and-gas hotel entities filed Chapter 11 in 2015; a public REIT then walked from the 12-hotel portfolio sale. jump ↓
Caveat RREAF publishes no track record, no IRR, equity multiple or realized-deal figures are public. jump ↓

CREsponsor scorecard

A standardized public-record assessment. Select any scored lens or profile factor to inspect the cited evidence.

Geographic concentration

15 states · 6 in top metro 15 mapped markets for geographic concentration
Profile factor

The most dispersed footprint in this directory: 77 assets across 15 states, the largest metro cluster just six (Little Rock). Diversified by construction, thin in every individual market.

Awards

62/100
Documented

Freddie Mac Optigo Select Sponsor (2022, 2023) is the substantive one. The repeated 'Multifamily Operator of the Year' claim names no granting body, and the 2024 developer award came from a capital partner.

Online reputation

74/100
Mixed

Residents rate the portfolio 4.0/5 across 3,733 Google reviews: high for workforce housing. Offsetting it, our read of the BBB complaint file is Mixed.

Team expertise

77/100
Established

Long tenure, mostly corroborated on the dates that matter, but four of the five senior executives run an undisclosed concurrent outside business, the COO as an active United Airlines 777 pilot.

Risk screen

58/100
Monitor findings

Four RREAF oil-patch hotel entities filed Chapter 11 in 2015, and a public REIT walked from the 12-hotel portfolio citing RREAF's inability to get lender, investor and bankruptcy-court approvals.

Differentiator

Five verticals, one operator
Profile factor

Owning land, resort and cottages lets RREAF build Galveston's Margaritaville as one project, and in-house manager RR Living drives the 4.0/5 resident rating. The RV vertical is the exception, Blue Water runs it.

Sources of capital

Institutional + retail
Profile factor

DLP Capital and 3650 REIT across three portfolios totalling 7,500+ units, Axonic Capital on two 2026 JVs, and a large accredited-investor base including the inherited RealtyShares book.

Scores are CREsponsor editorial assessments of the cited public record, not ratings by any regulator. Methodology · Report a correction.

Track record

RREAF publishes no track record. Unlike most sponsors of comparable size, there is no performance page, no realized-deal table, and no IRR or equity-multiple figure anywhere on rreaf.com. Nothing on this page reports an RREAF return, because no RREAF return is public. What follows is scale, not performance, and the sponsor’s own scale figures do not agree with each other.

$4.7B AUM (per sponsor)
77 Properties (verified)
15 States
None Realized returns published
2022 (per sponsor) 2026 (per sponsor)
No bars are shown because RREAF publishes no per-deal returns. The stat tiles are scale figures only: the AUM number is self-reported and the property count is CREsponsor's own count of the sponsor's public directory. rreaf.com/about-us

The figures conflict, on the sponsor’s own pages. RREAF’s homepage reports 15,000+ units/keys; its About page reports 23,000+ units/keys acquired or developed since inception and 130+ transactions. The same About page carries $4.7 billion AUM in one block and $4.6 billion in another. An October 2022 press release put the portfolio at “in excess of $5 billion in assets, across 15 states”, and in August 2023 the figure was reported as “exceeding $4.5 billion” (The Real Deal). These are reconcilable (cumulative-since-inception is a different measure from currently-owned, and a portfolio can shrink), but RREAF does not reconcile them, so an allocator should ask which basis each figure uses before relying on any of them.

The one figure CREsponsor verified independently is the property count: the sponsor’s public portfolio directory returns 77 assets across 15 states, against the “90+ properties” claimed on the homepage.

The only realized outcome RREAF has announced is the September 2025 sale of Ascend Midtown in Savannah, a 150-unit 1968-vintage community and the first disposition from the 21-community TransCoastal 21 portfolio acquired in 2021. No price, hold-period return or investor distribution was disclosed (per sponsor).

Profile factor

Geographic footprint

Geographic concentration 15 states · no metro over 4

77 assets spread across 15 states with no metro holding more than four: the most dispersed footprint in this directory. That is genuine diversification, but it also means little operating density in any single market, in largely secondary and tertiary Sun Belt cities.

Named metro clusters from the sponsor's portfolio directory, 2026-07-25: counts are properties, not units. These fourteen markers are the identifiable clusters, not the full 77: the remaining assets sit one or two to a market across the same 15 states. The scorecard map above rolls all 77 up by state. rreaf.com portfolio directory
77 Properties
15 States
55 Multifamily
6 Largest metro cluster
Texas 19 Arkansas 11 Georgia 9 Florida 9 Alabama 6 South Carolina 6 North Carolina 4 Tennessee 3 Mississippi 2 Indiana 2 Oklahoma 2 Other (UT, MD, ID, LA) 4
Portfolio by property type 6 communities
Show communities
Largest clusters 6 communities
Show communities
Type and state splits computed from the sponsor's portfolio API on 2026-07-25. Two listings carry no state tag in the API and were assigned from their directory entries (Rock Hill → South Carolina; LYNX Gate City, Greensboro → North Carolina); the state counts sum to all 77. rreaf.com portfolio directory

What the dispersion means. RREAF is the mirror image of a market-density operator: where a sponsor like Madera Residential concentrates in one metro, RREAF spreads 77 assets over 15 states and stops at six properties in its biggest cluster. Diversification is real: a single-metro rent shock cannot take down the book. The trade-off is equally real: in most of these markets RREAF owns one or two properties, which limits the staffing leverage, vendor pricing and market intelligence that density buys, and concentrates the platform’s execution risk in its central Dallas overhead rather than in local scale.

Public-record assessment

Key personnel

Editorial score 77 /100

Long tenures and real institutional pedigree: a 37-year CEO, a COO who ran a crowdfunding platform before joining, a CIO whose lender-side progression is dated end to end. Deductions: every biography is self-reported, four of the five run a concurrent outside business the team page does not disclose, and this same leadership presided over the 2015 oil-patch Chapter 11.

Per-person scores grade the depth of each public track record relative to that person’s role, not competence and not a ranking against one another. Titles per the sponsor’s team page, cross-read against each executive’s LinkedIn on 2026-07-30. Adverse screens ran clean at the individual level on 2026-07-25 (Risk screen).

What the LinkedIn cross-read changed. Four of the five carry a concurrent, present-tense outside business that the sponsor’s team page does not disclose: Sowden at Realty America Group since 2000, McKnight at McKnight Holdings since 2012, Provosty still running Antebellum Construction, and Holzmann flying the Boeing 777 line for United Airlines. Those are dated entries on the executives’ own profiles, and they are the reason this lens came down. The dates otherwise corroborated well: McKnight’s January 2010 start matches the state charter to the month, and Webb’s record checked out so completely that his score went up. Two long-tenure bio claims, McKnight’s 38 years in banking and Provosty’s 30, do not appear on the profiles those two maintain; that is missing corroboration rather than a contradiction, and it is logged rather than treated as disproof. LinkedIn is self-reported in exactly the way a sponsor bio is. It is weighted here for its dates, not because it is more honest.

Founder
Kip Sowden headshot

Kip Sowden

Chairman & CEO
Public track record 82/100
  • 37+ yrs in CRE; 39-yr Texas broker licence (per sponsor bio)
  • Brokered $10B+ in sales, financed $8B+ in loans (per sponsor bio)
  • Also CEO of Realty America Group since 2000, concurrent (per LinkedIn)
  • Named on every RREAF Form D, 2013–2025 (EDGAR)

SEC filings name him Webb M. Sowden, III; he is publicly known as Kip Sowden.

BA Economics, UT Austin (1985)
Co-founder, 2010
Doug McKnight headshot

Doug McKnight

President
Public track record 78/100
  • President / Partner since Jan 2010, matching the state charter (per LinkedIn)
  • 38+ yrs banking; retired Vining Sparks partner (per sponsor bio, absent from LinkedIn)
  • Founder / CEO of McKnight Holdings since 2012, concurrent (per LinkedIn)
  • Based in Memphis; the RREAF seat is listed as Dallas hybrid (per LinkedIn)
Principal since founding
Mitch Provosty headshot

Mitch Provosty

Chief Financial Officer
Public track record 75/100
  • CFO since Aug 2009 (per LinkedIn); bio claims 30+ yrs, LinkedIn shows 21
  • Still CEO of Antebellum Construction, founded 2005, concurrent (per LinkedIn)
  • Led Beachside and Bikini Beach resort redevelopments (per sponsor bio)
  • Florida building licence + Texas real-estate licence (per sponsor bio)
BS Mech. Eng. UT Austin; MBA Darden
Joined 2019
Jeff Holzmann headshot

Jeff Holzmann

Chief Operating Officer
Public track record 74/100
  • COO since Feb 2020; CEO of the IRM subsidiary since Mar 2019 (per LinkedIn)
  • Oversees the former RealtyShares book: $1.5B+ in assets (per sponsor bio)
  • Prior: MD then COO of iintoo; President of IncrediMail, NASDAQ: MAIL
  • Concurrently an active United Airlines 777 pilot since 2018 (per LinkedIn)
BA Business & IT, Reichman University
Joined Jan 2019
Brad Webb headshot

Brad Webb

Chief Investment Officer
Public track record 76/100
  • 16 yrs continuous CRE and finance, dated from Jun 2010 (per LinkedIn)
  • SVP at Bank OZK 2015–2018, a major CRE construction lender (per LinkedIn)
  • Began as a credit analyst; senior analyst within six months (per LinkedIn)
  • EVP Jan 2019, promoted to CIO Oct 2024 (per LinkedIn)
BBA, Baylor University

The wider executive bench. Beyond the five carded above, RREAF’s team page lists four partners, Jason Cherry, Gary Darby, Shannon Livingston and Stephen Chad Stewart: plus Tony Perez, EVP of Portfolio Management. Livingston is the one an allocator should note by name: she leads RREAF Communities and is the developer behind the 3,000-acre Heirloom master-planned community, the firm’s largest single undertaking.

Named in the filings, not on the team page. RREAF’s Form D filings from 2020 onward add two executive officers who do not appear among the leadership on rreaf.com: Lucien J. Tujague, Jr., named on the Sunbelt, TransCoastal 21, Southeast Multifamily Portfolio III, Heirloom and Beachside Hospitality vehicles, and Brandon Miller on Sunbelt Multifamily Portfolio I. Anyone diligencing a specific RREAF vehicle should read that vehicle’s own Form D rather than the team page: the signatories differ. Titles also move, and this one now reconciles: The Real Deal identified Graham Sowden as chief investment officer in August 2023 (The Real Deal, Aug 2023), and Brad Webb’s own LinkedIn shows he held the EVP title until October 2024. The two records agree: the CIO seat changed hands between them, it did not conflict.

The management arm has its own chief executive. RREAF Residential rebranded to RR Living in 2024, and Melanie French serves as its CEO (per RR Living). The sponsor reports over 100 corporate employees and nearly 450 on-site staff (per sponsor).

Published contact points (already public, with sources): main line (214) 522-3300 (Dallas office listing) · RR Living (469) 608-7594 (BBB profile) · former RealtyShares investors are directed to support@iirrms.com (RREAF’s RealtyShares page). For a routed introduction, use Contact below.

Public-record assessment

Risk screen

Editorial score 58 /100

The lowest risk score in this directory, driven by one documented episode: four RREAF entities in Chapter 11 in 2015 and a public REIT abandoning the related 12-hotel purchase. It is ten years old, confined to an oil-patch hotel strategy the firm no longer runs, and there is no securities-enforcement record, but it is on this leadership's record and investor outcomes were never disclosed.

Finding Bankruptcy Four RREAF oil-and-gas hospitality entities filed Chapter 11 in the W.D. Tex. on 2015-07-08: RREAF O&G Portfolio #2 LLC (15-70094), O&G Portfolio 2 Manager LLC (15-70095), O&G Portfolio 3 LLC (15-70096) and O&G Portfolio 3 Manager LLC (15-70097). All four closed in June 2016, a related adversary proceeding in September 2017. These vehicles raised under Form D in 2013-2014 to buy Permian Basin hotels, then the oil price collapsed. Investor recoveries are not public. CourtListener, W.D. Tex.
Finding Counterparty disclosure On 2015-12-31 First Capital Real Estate Trust, a public non-traded REIT, told RREAF it would not acquire twelve limited-service hotels in Texas and New Mexico (the 'RREAF Portfolio'), citing in its own 8-K RREAF's 'inability to procure all necessary approvals from its lenders, investors and the Bankruptcy court.' An earlier 8-K shows RREAF entity loans at 12-15% with 2015 maturities. RREAF sued First Capital in Feb 2017 (N.D. Tex. 3:17-cv-00469); it terminated March 2018, no public judgment. First Capital 8-K, Jan 2016
Clear SEC enforcement EDGAR full-text search returns 117 filings naming RREAF, all Form D or D/A vehicle filings plus three counterparty 8-Ks; none is an enforcement matter. EDGAR indexes filings only, so it cannot reach administrative proceedings: those are checked separately below. Control: the same unfiltered query returns 10,000+ on a common term. EDGAR full-text search
N/A Form ADV Item 11 RREAF holds no SEC investment-adviser registration (IAPD returns zero matches), so no Form ADV exists and no Item 11 disclosure regime backstops the record. A structural gap, not a conduct finding. Control (2026-07-29): the same IAPD endpoint returns Cortland Investment Management (299369), so this zero is proven, not an empty index. IAPD
Finding Federal dockets (civil) Seven matters 2017-2025, none securities-related, all ordinary-course for a 500-person employer: Roberts v. RREAF Holdings (E.D. Ark., FLSA, 2019-2022); Seneca Insurance Co. v. RREAF Holdings (S.D. Miss., coverage, 2020-2021); McCastle v. RREAF Residential River Pointe (E.D. Ark., employment, 2023-2024); Warner v. RREAF Holdings (W.D.N.C., employment, terminated Aug 2025). RREAF was itself plaintiff in RREAF Holdings v. Malanuk (D.S.C., 2023). CourtListener
Clear Current-portfolio distress No foreclosure, receivership or lender action against an RREAF-owned asset surfaced in this pass. RREAF has instead been a buyer of other sponsors' distress: its January 2026 Houston acquisition was a property its previous owner had lost to foreclosure. per sponsor / The Real Deal
Clear Regulatory registration Roughly 85 Reg D filing entities between 2013 and 2025 with no filing irregularity identified. Recent vehicles are small and single-asset; the largest registered offering found was Sunbelt Multifamily Portfolio I at $117.7M in 2020. EDGAR EFTS
Clear, partial Foreclosure (county records) Dallas, the HQ county, checked 2026-07-29 and clean against a live control of 1,732 substitute-trustee notices. Ran the roster rather than the brand, since only 15 of 93 entities carry the RREAF token: zero for RREAF, SOWDEN (the principal), GRAVITAS, and each DOMINION property entity by exact name. A bare DOMINION query returns 3 residential notices, all resolved as subdivision-name OCR matches rather than affiliates. Not yet reached: Harris, Chatham, Pulaski, Richland and Marion, logged in open: and not scored. county clerk records

Screens as of 2026-07-25.

Why the 2015 episode still matters, and why it is discounted

Why it still matters. The O&G portfolios were sold to investors as hospitality deals in oil-boom markets, and the Form Ds show real money raised in 2013–2014. Within eighteen months the entities were in Chapter 11, the debt on the underlying hotels was priced at 12–15%, and the exit that might have recovered value (a sale to a public REIT), collapsed. What investors ultimately recovered has never been disclosed, and RREAF’s site does not mention the episode.

Why it is discounted. It is ten years old. It was confined to a single strategy (limited-service hotels serving oil-field labour in the Permian and Eagle Ford), that RREAF no longer pursues. The current platform is multifamily-led, with institutional partners who conducted their own diligence, and no RREAF entity has filed for bankruptcy protection since. It is a scar, not an open wound; the fair reading is that this leadership has been through a full down-cycle and that an allocator should ask directly how those investors were made whole.

A note on a Delaware opinion that mentions RREAF. Ropko v. McNeill (Del. Ch., C.A. 2024-1193-PAF) describes a governance fight inside McNeill Investment Group, and records that MIG began negotiating an extended-stay joint venture with RREAF in February 2024, with documents executed in mid-September 2024 through McNeill Economy Hospitality LLC. RREAF is not a party to that case and no conduct is attributed to it: the venture appears only as background to the McNeill dispute.

Public-record assessment

Awards and designations

Editorial score 62 /100

One genuinely independent, lender-side designation repeated across two years; the rest is thinner than the sponsor's boilerplate implies: an award with no named grantor and a developer award conferred by its own capital partner.

Per sponsor Freddie Mac Optigo Select Sponsor Freddie Mac Multifamily · 2022 · 2023

Freddie Mac's designation for repeat multifamily borrowers, carrying preferential pricing, terms and execution speed on agency debt. The most substantive item here: it reflects a GSE's own underwriting of the sponsor across two consecutive years.

cited in sponsor releases
Per sponsor Developer of the Year DLP Capital: Building Thriving Communities Awards · 2024

Conferred by DLP Capital: which is also RREAF's equity partner on three multifamily portfolios. A real recognition, but not an independent one; read it as a partner endorsement rather than a market-wide ranking.

announcement, Nov 2024
Per sponsor Deal of the Year NAIOP Northwest Florida · 2024

Awarded to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Pensacola Beach project by the regional NAIOP chapter: an independent industry body, though chapter-level and single-asset.

announcement, Apr 2024
Per sponsor Multifamily Operator of the Year Grantor not disclosed · 2021 · 2022

This claim appears in the standard 'About RREAF' block of many press releases across several years, but no release, and no page on rreaf.com, names the organisation that granted it. CREsponsor found no independent record of the award. Treat as unverified until the grantor is named.

repeated in sponsor boilerplate

The recognition profile is lender-side and regional rather than performance-based, and one of the four claims has no traceable grantor at all: hence 62 rather than higher. No PERE, NMHC or national multifamily-excellence listing surfaced for RREAF in this screen.

Public-record assessment

Online reputation

Editorial score 74 /100

Residents rate RREAF's communities 4.0/5 across 3,733 Google reviews: materially above the mid-3s typical of workforce housing, and the strongest resident signal in this directory. Offsetting it, our read of the BBB file on the management arm is Mixed, because accreditation and complaint responsiveness sit alongside a heavy three-year complaint volume.

Google Reviews ↗ 4.0 / 5 3,733 reviews across 17 sampled communities, review-count-weighted (2026-07-25) BBB (RR Living) Our assessment Mixed Accredited since 2024-06-10 and responsive, but a heavy three-year complaint volume and negative customer reviews (2026-07-25) View profile ↗
Glassdoor (RR Living) Not checked The employer profile auth-walls and was not opened at source (2026-07-29)

Why our BBB read is Mixed and not simply good or bad. A BBB letter grade measures responsiveness to BBB complaints and accreditation status, not customer satisfaction, and on this profile the two point opposite ways: RR Living is accredited and does answer complaints, while the small pool of customer reviews on the very same profile is close to uniformly negative and the three-year complaint count is heavy. Both are true because they measure different things, which is exactly what a Mixed classification is for. The rating itself is BBB’s, so read it on their profile rather than here. The far larger Google sample remains the better read on typical resident experience.

Residents (weighted most). A sweep of 17 communities carrying 3,733 Google reviews returns a review-count-weighted 4.04/5: twelve of the seventeen rate 4.0 or better. That is a strong number for Class B/C workforce housing, where mid-3s is the norm.

Sampled communities, Google rating (review count) →
CommunityMarketGoogle rating
2828 at Royal OaksHouston, TX3.5 (662)
Ascend at SavannahSavannah, GA4.4 (381)
51 at SouthavenSouthaven, MS4.0 (368)
Falls at Spring CreekMacon, GA4.1 (323)
Waterford PlaceGreenville, NC4.2 (312)
Traditions at WestmooreOklahoma City, OK4.6 (284)
Legacy at River CrossingMacon, GA4.0 (217)
The 85TwentyIndianapolis, IN3.7 (184)
Reserve at Long PointHattiesburg, MS4.4 (182)
River PointeMaumelle, AR4.5 (159)
5iftyOne at Tradan HeightsStillwater, OK4.0 (155)
Broad River TraceColumbia, SC4.4 (135)
Carriage HouseSavannah, GA4.1 (131)
NOVA Lake NormanMooresville, NC3.5 (122)
Wilmington ApartmentsLittle Rock, AR4.2 (94)
Glen at Polo ParkBentonville, AR1.9 (16)
Summer TraceGulf Shores, AL3.1 (8)

Method note: ratings read from each community’s Google listing on 2026-07-25. This is a 17-community sample of 55 multifamily assets, not a full sweep: it is weighted toward the larger communities and the named assets in the DLP/3650 portfolios, so it is likely to flatter slightly relative to the long tail. Two outliers carry very few reviews (Glen at Polo Park, 16; Summer Trace, 8) and move the weighted average very little. The corporate listings themselves diverge: RR Living rates 4.0 across 96 reviews, RREAF Holdings 3.1 across 39.

Profile factor

The five-vertical platform

Differentiator Five verticals, one operator

Very few sponsors of this size run apartments, hotels, extended-stay, RV resorts and master-planned land simultaneously, with in-house property management and construction under the same roof. The integration is not total: RREAF handed exclusive management of its RV resorts to a third party in 2024.

Most sponsors in this directory do one thing. RREAF runs five: multifamily (55 of 77 assets, platform established 2015), hospitality and resorts (11), outdoor and RV communities (5, entered 2023), ground-up extended stay (3) and master-planned communities (2), and it operates and builds most of them with its own staff through RR Living and an in-house construction team.

One vertical is not in-house, and the sponsor’s own framing obscures it. Effective 1 June 2024, RREAF handed management of four RV resorts (Wildwood RV Village, Gulf Breeze, Bay Palms and Mobile West), to Blue Water, an Ocean City, Maryland outdoor-hospitality operator. Kip Sowden’s own words in Blue Water’s announcement are unambiguous: Blue Water is “our exclusive property management company” for the resorts (Blue Water, 25 June 2024). RREAF’s site markets outdoor communities as one of its five in-house platforms and does not mention Blue Water. Read the vertical-integration claim as applying to multifamily (where RR Living genuinely operates), and not to the RV portfolio RREAF paid $157M to assemble.

The case for it is optionality. RREAF can move capital toward whichever vertical is mispriced without rebuilding a team, and it captures management and construction economics that a single-strategy sponsor pays away. The Galveston Margaritaville project is the clearest expression: a master-planned coastal site, a branded resort, and cottages, executed as one development rather than three separate deals.

The sober counter-argument matters just as much. Five verticals means five sets of operating expertise, and hospitality in particular behaves nothing like apartments: RevPAR reprices daily where apartment rents reprice annually, which is precisely the dynamic that put the O&G hotel portfolio into Chapter 11 in 2015. Diversification across property types is not the same as competence in each, and vertical integration puts owner, manager and builder incentives inside one entity with no third-party check. An allocator underwriting an RREAF apartment deal is underwriting a hotel developer’s judgement too.

Recent activity

  1. Jun–Jul 2026 Positive

    The Palms at Chatham, Savannah: second Axonic JV

    JV
    300-unit Savannah community acquired with Axonic Capital, the pair's second deal in six months. RREAF has announced renovations; the purchase takes its Savannah cluster to four communities.
    Savannah Morning News, Jun 2026
  2. 2026 (in progress) Neutral

    Margaritaville Beach Cottage Resort, Galveston advances

    Development
    First beach cottages delivered to the 95-acre East Beach site developed with Innisfree Hotels. Press figures differ on scale: roughly $250M for the resort within a project reported at up to $700M overall.
    per sponsor
  3. Jan 2026 Positive

    2828 at Royal Oaks, Houston: bought out of another sponsor's foreclosure

    Acquisition
    510-unit Houston community acquired with Axonic Capital, the first closed JV between the two. Deed records show the prior owner had lost the asset to foreclosure after defaulting on a $65.2M loan: RREAF was the distress buyer, not the distressed party.
    The Real Deal, Jan 2026
  4. Sep 2025 Neutral

    First TransCoastal 21 disposition: Ascend Midtown, Savannah

    Disposition
    150-unit 1968-vintage community sold, the first exit from the 21-community, 4,014-unit portfolio bought in 2021 with DLP Capital and 3650 REIT. No price or return disclosed.
    per sponsor
  5. Sep 2024 Neutral

    MxR Hospitality extended-stay JV documents executed

    JV
    A Delaware Chancery opinion records that RREAF executed joint-venture documents with an entity owned by McNeill Sr. to develop extended-stay hotels, after negotiations that began in February 2024. RREAF is not a party to that litigation.
    Del. Ch. opinion
Earlier activity, 2013 through 2024 →
  1. Nov 2024 Positive

    Named Developer of the Year in DLP Capital's Building Thriving Communities Awards

    Award
    Conferred by DLP Capital, which is also RREAF's equity partner on three multifamily portfolios.
    per sponsor
  2. May 2024 Neutral

    RREAF Residential rebrands as RR Living

    Leadership
    The in-house management arm relaunches under a new name, led by CEO Melanie French.
    rrliving.com
  3. Jan 2024 Positive

    Margaritaville Galveston partnership with Innisfree Hotels announced

    JV
    RREAF and beachfront operator Innisfree Hotels announce a Gensler-designed Margaritaville resort at 317 E. Beach Drive, Galveston.
    per sponsor / CoStar
  4. Jun 2024 Neutral

    RV resorts handed to Blue Water as exclusive third-party manager

    Operations
    Effective 1 June 2024, Blue Water took over management of Wildwood RV Village, Gulf Breeze, Bay Palms and Mobile West. Kip Sowden called Blue Water 'our exclusive property management company' for the resorts: the one vertical RREAF does not operate itself, a qualification its own site does not make.
    Blue Water, Jun 2024
  5. Aug 2023 Positive

    Five RV parks acquired for $157M: the outdoor-communities entry

    Acquisition
    Mobile West (Theodore AL), Gulf Breeze (Gulf Shores AL), Bay Palms (Coden AL), Lavendel Resort (Fredericksburg TX) and Wildwood (FL). RREAF signalled a further RV tranche at roughly $550M, and put its AUM at 'exceeding $4.5 billion' at the time: below both its 2022 and 2026 claims.
    The Real Deal / Dallas Morning News
  6. Jul 2023 Neutral

    Heirloom, Ellis County: 3,000 acres, 11,500 planned homes

    Development
    RREAF Communities, led by partner Shannon Livingston, plans 8,500 single-family homes plus 3,000 rental homes between Midlothian and Waxahachie on land assembled mainly in 2021 and appraised at $22.3M. Execution risk is documented: Midlothian, Waxahachie and Ellis County officials all opposed the two municipal utility districts the project needs to finance infrastructure.
    The Real Deal / Dallas Morning News
  7. Oct 2022 Positive

    Southeast Multifamily Portfolio III: roughly $500M with DLP Capital and 3650 REIT

    Acquisition
    10 properties, 2,744 units across seven states, bought from a single seller at 93% occupancy; assets built 1998–2012. Berkadia arranged financing. The trio's third portfolio in under twelve months, together more than 7,500 units.
    PRNewswire
  8. 2021 Positive

    TransCoastal 21 portfolio: 21 communities, 4,014 units

    Acquisition
    Joint acquisition with DLP Capital and 3650 REIT across seven states. The related Form D vehicle registered a $31.15M offering with a first sale in September 2021.
    Form D
  9. 2020 Neutral

    Sunbelt Multifamily Portfolio I: largest registered RREAF offering

    Fundraise
    A $117.7M Form D offering with a $2.85M minimum investment: institutional-scale terms, distinct from the $50K minimums on RREAF's retail vehicles.
    Form D
  10. 2019 Neutral

    Jeff Holzmann joins to run the RealtyShares book

    Leadership
    Joins as CEO of the IRM subsidiary and President of Asset Management, overseeing the former RealtyShares portfolio: thousands of investors and, per his bio, over $1.5B in asset value.
    per sponsor bio
  11. Jul 2015 – Jun 2016 Negative

    Four RREAF oil-and-gas hotel entities in Chapter 11

    Bankruptcy
    RREAF O&G Portfolio #2 and #3 and both manager entities filed Chapter 11 in the Western District of Texas on 8 July 2015 following the oil-price collapse. All four cases closed in June 2016.
    CourtListener
  12. Dec 2015 Negative

    Public REIT terminates the 12-hotel RREAF Portfolio acquisition

    Counterparty
    First Capital Real Estate Trust told RREAF it would not proceed, citing RREAF's inability to obtain lender, investor and bankruptcy-court approvals. RREAF sued in 2017; the case terminated in 2018.
    First Capital 8-K
  13. Jul 2013 Neutral

    Earliest RREAF Form D: RREAF Holdings (Mid Elm), LLC

    Fundraise
    A $415,000 offering, fully sold, signed by Webb M. Sowden III as Chief Executive Officer. The oldest RREAF securities filing on EDGAR, three years after the 2010 founding date the sponsor reports.
    EDGAR

Refresh method: the sponsor’s news archive is unusually complete (248 posts back to 2019) and is the fastest source for JV, award and disposition announcements; EDGAR Form D sweeps catch vehicles before the press release.

Sources of capital

RREAF pairs named institutional partners at the portfolio and preferred-equity level (DLP Capital, 3650 REIT and Axonic on a $500M Sunbelt portfolio) with roughly 85 Reg D vehicles of individual accredited money at $50,000 minimums, plus a retail book inherited from the collapsed RealtyShares platform. That ordering is the point: preferred capital is repaid first, so the common equity absorbing losses is individual money as it is at S2 Capital and CAF Capital Partners, no pension or sovereign commitment is publicly visible, and fees, promote and waterfall are not public.

How RREAF Holdings compares

Contact

For investors

Contact RREAF Holdings

Evaluating this sponsor? Send your inquiry through CREsponsor. We forward it to the firm and track that it gets a response.

Contact sponsor

References

Every figure on this page is either drawn from an SEC filing or court record and identified as such, drawn from an independent third party, or reported by the sponsor and explicitly tagged “per sponsor.” Nothing here is a CREsponsor estimate.

Government filings and court records

Independent third parties

Sponsor-published (self-reported)

Related on CREsponsor: Dallas/Irving sponsors · Houston sponsors · Savannah sponsors · Multifamily · Hospitality · Workforce housing · DLP Capital-backed sponsors · S2 Capital · CAF Capital Partners · Madera Residential · How CREsponsor scores sponsors · Disclaimers

Frequently asked

What is RREAF Holdings' AUM?
RREAF reports approximately $4.7 billion in assets under management across 90-plus assets. The figure is self-reported and drifts between pages on the sponsor's own site: its About page carries both $4.7B and $4.6B, and a 2022 press release claimed 'in excess of $5 billion.' RREAF's public portfolio directory lists 77 properties across 15 states, which is the number CREsponsor could verify independently.
Who founded and runs RREAF Holdings?
Kip Sowden is Chairman and CEO; Doug McKnight, a retired partner of the Memphis investment bank Vining Sparks IBG, helped found the firm in 2010 and is President. Mitch Provosty, a principal involved since before the 2010 founding, is CFO. Brad Webb, previously an SVP at Bank OZK, is CIO, and Jeff Holzmann, formerly managing director of the crowdfunding platform iintoo, is COO. Across every RREAF Form D from 2013 to 2025 the named executive officer and signatory is Webb M. Sowden, III.
Where is RREAF Holdings headquartered?
1909 Woodall Rodgers Freeway, Suite 300, Dallas, Texas, per its SEC Form D filings.
What does RREAF Holdings invest in?
Five verticals across the Sun Belt: value-add and workforce multifamily (55 of 77 listed properties), hospitality and resorts (11), RV and outdoor communities (5), ground-up extended-stay hotels (3), master-planned communities (2) and one retail asset. The multifamily platform was established in 2015, per the sponsor.
Does RREAF Holdings manage its own properties?
Mostly, but not entirely. RREAF's multifamily portfolio is managed in-house by RR Living, its own management arm, which rebranded from RREAF Residential in 2024 and is led by CEO Melanie French. The RV and outdoor-communities vertical is the exception: effective 1 June 2024 RREAF appointed Blue Water, an Ocean City, Maryland outdoor-hospitality firm, as what CEO Kip Sowden called its exclusive property management company for four RV resorts. RREAF's own site presents outdoor communities as an in-house platform and does not mention Blue Water.
Has RREAF Holdings ever filed for bankruptcy?
Yes. Four RREAF oil-and-gas hospitality entities (RREAF O&G Portfolio #2 LLC, RREAF O&G Portfolio 3 LLC and both manager entities), filed Chapter 11 in the Western District of Texas on 8 July 2015, after the oil-price collapse hit the Permian Basin hotels they owned. All four cases closed in June 2016. No RREAF entity has filed since.
Who are RREAF Holdings' institutional partners?
DLP Capital and 3650 REIT partnered with RREAF on three multifamily portfolios in under twelve months: Gulf Coast II, TransCoastal 21 (21 communities, 4,014 units) and the roughly $500 million Southeast Multifamily Portfolio III (10 properties, 2,744 units, October 2022), together more than 7,500 units. Axonic Capital, a New York investment manager, has joint-ventured on two 2026 Houston and Savannah acquisitions. Innisfree Hotels is RREAF's partner on the Galveston Margaritaville resort. No US public pension, Canadian, Australian, UK or sovereign-wealth commitment to RREAF is publicly disclosed.
Is RREAF Holdings registered with the SEC?
No. The IAPD adviser registry returns zero matches for RREAF, so no Form ADV or Item 11 disclosure record exists. RREAF raises deal-by-deal through Regulation D vehicles instead: roughly 85 distinct filing entities between 2013 and 2025.
What is the minimum investment in an RREAF deal?
Most recent RREAF Form D vehicles set a $50,000 minimum, including the 2025 Parventino Investors offering. Institutional-scale vehicles differ sharply: Sunbelt Multifamily Portfolio I set a $2.85 million minimum in 2020. Fee and waterfall terms are not public: RREAF files no Form ADV and publishes no fee schedule.
Does RREAF Holdings have an open raise?
None is publicly visible. The most recent Regulation D vehicle on EDGAR is Parventino Investors, LLC, filed 3 November 2025 against a first sale in May 2025, showing $3.63 million of a $4.84 million offering sold at the time of filing. No newer RREAF Form D had been filed as of 25 July 2026. Sponsors can and do raise without a fresh filing appearing immediately, so confirm directly with the GP.
Is RREAF Holdings involved in any litigation?
Nothing at the securities or enforcement level: SEC EFTS shows no enforcement action. Federal dockets since 2019 are ordinary-course for an employer of this size: two employment suits (2023, 2025), an FLSA case (2019–2022), an insurance coverage dispute (2020–2021), and one contract case RREAF itself filed in 2023. RREAF was also the plaintiff in a 2017 suit against First Capital Real Estate Investments over the collapsed hotel-portfolio sale.
Revision history3entries
  1. The SEC-enforcement screen was re-run and its citation corrected. The previous screen cited an EDGAR full-text query filtered to `forms=AAER`, which cannot return a result for any term: AAER releases are SEC administrative publications, not EDGAR filings, so the filter selects a form type that does not exist. Verified by control: `the`, `fraud` and `securities` each return 0 under `forms=AAER` while the same terms unfiltered return 10,000+. Here the 8-K filter was valid so the verdict stands, but the row claimed no 'administrative proceeding' had been found from a source that indexes filings only and can never show one. Re-stated to the 117 filings the query does return, all Form D or D/A plus three counterparty 8-Ks. Also repointed the foreclosure row from a Dallas County Clerk URL that 404s to the county's foreclosure-notices page.
  2. Sources of capital condensed to a two-sentence statement with inline sources. The section had grown to 11-131 lines per page of LP cards, fund cards and audit trail; the facts that decide an allocation (who the capital comes from, and who absorbs a loss) were being carried by a slab most readers skip. Every claim and link in the short version is carried over from the long one, and the per-vehicle detail remains in git history, in the FAQ entries for minimums and fees, and in `sources[].gave:`. No score changed: the lens is value-mode and carries no weight in the hero grade.
  3. Initial publish. Footprint built from the sponsor's portfolio API (77 assets, 15 states). Capital partners verified: DLP Capital and 3650 REIT across three portfolios, Axonic Capital on two 2026 JVs, Innisfree on Galveston, and a McNeill extended-stay JV surfaced in a Delaware Chancery opinion. Risk screen documents the 2015 Chapter 11 of four RREAF oil-patch hotel entities and the Dec 2015 collapse of the 12-hotel sale to First Capital Real Estate Trust, both from primary records. Review pass added the $157M five-park RV acquisition (Aug 2023) and the 3,000-acre Heirloom master-planned community, including the municipal-utility-district opposition from Midlothian, Waxahachie and Ellis County that gates its financing; recorded that AUM was reported at $4.5B in 2023 against $5B in 2022 and $4.7B today; and stated explicitly that individual accredited investors hold the first-loss common equity while institutional capital sits at the portfolio and preferred level. Vertical-integration claim corrected: Blue Water has been the exclusive third-party manager of RREAF's four RV resorts since 1 June 2024, per Blue Water's announcement quoting Kip Sowden, so the in-house-operator differentiator applies to multifamily and not to the outdoor-communities vertical.

Spot something wrong or missing? Report a correction →